jueves, 24 de noviembre de 2011

Maylene and the Sons of Disaster - IV

After reading tons of posts online, I have to say I'm in the minority when I say that Maylene and the Sons of Disaster have just released their best album to date with IV. No joking, I'm dead serious. Dallas and company have finally embraced southern rock and not southern metal with a splash of metalcore thrown in - but southern rock. The guys are much less Underoath now and much more Gov't Mule or Drive-By Truckers. They lose a little edge at times, but the new sound is worth it. Don't get me wrong, I think III was great, but I love the new sound. "In Dead We Dream," "Save Me," "Fate Dreams," "Never Enough" and "Cat's Walk" are completely rocking tracks, while "Faith Healer (Bring Me Down)" and "Drought of '85" are slower acoustic based. "Faith Healer" even has a slightly pop vibe. I'm most confused by the fact that some say it's not southern and it's a radio sell-out album. I believe this album is a throwback to 70's southern rock, where it actually began. From the album cover to the fuzz they used for distortion, it's beautiful, classic even. So you may ask, "If you love it so much why only a four star rating?" My only complaint and disappointment is the seemingly flippant use of the word "hell" in both "Drought of '85" ["If no one had answers and love had no meaning, then what the hell are we fighting for?"] and "Off to the Laughing Place" ["I'm scared as hell I'll walk this earth alone."] I'm also pretty skeptical of the line "Take a moment to weep for the hurting, but I'll be damned if you weep for me.", which is also found in "Off to the Laughing Place." No matter how good it is musically, I just don't find the lyrics acceptable for a band being promoted in the Christian market. Mild profanities aside, if you are a fan of a more classic style of southern rock, this is a must-have. I am thrilled that you guys have stepped outside of your former selves for this record. Keep it up.

Style: Southern Rock/ Hardcore
Street Date: September 27, 2011

Track List:
01. In Dead We Dream (3:16)
02. Save Me (4:00)
03. Faith Healer (Bring Me Down) (3:38)
04. Open Your Eyes (3:15)
05. Killing Me Slow (4:05)
06. Taking On Water (4:06)
07. Fate Games (2:16)
08. Come For You (3:59)
09. Never Enough (2:52)
10. Cat's Walk (2:38)
11. Drought Of '85 (4:12)
12. Off To The Laughing Place (3:27)
Link: http://www.mediafire.com/?9dyaeu7tzgxy1k7

jueves, 17 de noviembre de 2011

Switchfoot - Vice Verses (D.E.)

Since 1997, Switchfoot has been satisfying the ears and hearts of music fans worldwide. Two years ago, the band released what is arguably one of their best projects to date with Hello Hurricane, even grabbing a Grammy win for it earlier this year. Around the same time they wrote the songs for Hurricane, the band penned what would go on to be a fan favorite with the song "Vice Verses," already knowing it would be the title track of their to-be-determined follow-up to Hello Hurricane. Now the storms have passed and Vice Verses is here to touch down upon eager listeners. The album carries a similar edgy and raw sonic feel to Hurricane, but amps it up a little bit more at times, mixing in some of the melodic catchiness that albums like Nothing Is Sound and Beautiful Letdown boasted. Thematically, Vice Verses continues Switchfoot's frequent themes of wanting to live for more (the mellow "Thrive" and rocker "Rise Above It") and even pondering life after death (the opening rocker "Afterlife" and the fantastic emotional closer "Where I Belong"). Musically, the only song where the band actually takes a little risk may be with the rant-style talking vocals used throughout the quirky but fun "Selling The News." Other gems include the edgy and anthemic "Dark Horses," "The Original," and the lovely, thought-provoking balladry of the title track. Vice Verses has been a longtime coming, and I honestly can't remember the last time I found an album as satisfying, exciting and consistently enjoyable from listen to listen as this Switchfoot's Vice Verses.

Style: Rock / Pop / Alternative
Street Date: September 27, 2011
2 CD's includes Hello Hurricane LIVE to 320kbps

01. Afterlife (3:37)
02. The Original (3:15)
03. The War Inside (3:39)
04. Restless (5:18)
05. Blinding Light (4:17)
06. Selling the News (3:35)
07. Thrive (5:12)
08. Dark Horses (3:54)
09. Souvenirs (4:15)
10. Rise Above It (3:33)
11. Vice Verses (5:08)
12. Where I Belong (6:53)