martes, 22 de febrero de 2011

The Classic Crime - Acoustic EP: Seattle Sessions

A year and a half after their release of their debut album, Albatross, The Classic Crime is serving up something a little bit different to their audiences. Taking a break from their indie rock style, the band's latest project, Acoustic EP: Seattle Sessions puts a new spin on their acclaimed dynamic. You won't find any guitar-led anthems here. But what you will find from these Seattle natives are honest, meaningful lyrics accompanied by some beautiful acoustic artwork.

Style: Acoustic Rock
Street Date: November 6, 2007

Track list:
01. Seattle
02. Blindfolded
03. The Test
04. Wake Up (Shipwreck)
05. The Drink In My Hand [Live]
06. When The Time Comes
07. Far From Home

domingo, 20 de febrero de 2011

The Classic Crime - Albatross

On their website, Matt MacDonald, vocalist for Tooth & Nail newcomers The Classic Crime, says he wants his band to have stats like the albatross, a bird with a fourteen foot wingspan and an eighty year life span. It’s an impressive and gutsy goal, but unfortunately, neither of those words can rightfully describe their debut album, Albatross.

The Classic Crime sounds eerily similar to Fall Out Boy… MacDonald’s voice, the musical arrangements, everything. Compare "All the Memories" to Fall Out Boy’s "Sugar, We’re Goin’ Down," and to call them the "Christian Fall Out Boy" by no means sounds like a stretch. For those unfamiliar with mainstream’s latest media child, Fall Out Boy is an aggressive four-piece pop/rock outfit with a knack for writing melodic, yet toe-tapping tunes. There are differences between the two acts, of course (The Classic Crime is a bit more intense), but it’s similar enough at times to make you do a double take.

Style: Alternative Rock
Street Date: May 23, 2006

Track list:
01. The Fight
02. Flight of Kings
03. Who Needs Air
04. Blisters and Coffee
05. The Coldest Heart
06. All the Memories
07. Say the Word
08. I Know the Feeling
09. The Poet
10. The Bitter Uprising
11. We All Look Elsewhere
12. Headlights

Download link:

jueves, 10 de febrero de 2011

This Beautiful Republic - Perceptions

The 5-piece of This Beautiful Republic has enjoyed a fair degree of notoriety and success in their few years beyond Toledo, Ohio. A scant sixteen months since last year's Even Heroes Need a Parachute garnered such initial notoriety and good reviews, the band returns with Perceptions. The album's moniker conceptually bears a dual meaning- reflecting the band's experience as both fight and fun exist in pursuing music full-time… and that God's perception and our human acuity are divergent, and yet He is faithful.

Style: Southern Rock
Street Date: August 19, 2008

Track list:
01. Pain
02. Surrender Saved My Life
03. Learning To Fall
04. Beautifully Broken
05. No Turning Back
06. My God
07. For The Life Of Me
08. Last Second Chance
09. Stay With You Tonight
10. Change The World
11. A Point Between Extremes
12. The Ones
13. Say Goodnight

Download link:

martes, 1 de febrero de 2011

This Beautiful Republic - Even Heroes Need a Parachute

In 2002, a small band from Toledo, Ohio called Sanctus Real exploded onto the scene, and rapidly became as staple in Christian rock music. Five years later, another band hailing from Toledo has emerged, and appears poised for similar success with their release Even Heroes Need a Parachute. This Beautiful Republic may not have quite the same catchiness on their debut as did Sanctus Real, but they still display serious talent. The band is careful to craft an album that will appeal to many different audiences; "Going Under" is turning heads on rock radio, while "Jesus to the World," despite its somewhat trite title and lyrics, is doing fairly well on Top 40 stations thanks to a likeable sound comparable to some of Starfield's work. Singer Ben Olin's powerful vocals sound edgy on heavier songs, yet polished on the softer ones. Another album highlight, "Black Box" has an eclectic mix of sounds that come together to create a fun rock song that should sound great live.

Style: Southern Rock
Street Date: April 3, 2007

Track list:
01. Casting Off
02. Going Under
03. Jesus To The World
04. Right Now
05. Black Box
06. The Surface
07. Let's Be Honest
08. New Year
09. Something To Deny
10. Fears & Failures
11. Cloud Cover

Download link:

StorySide: B - Everything And More

StorySide:B boasts an interesting history. When comprised of only vocalist/guitarist Lucio "Lu" Rubino and drummer Jordan Mohilowski, the duo took first place in the band division of the "Exalting Him" talent contest. Shortly thereafter, they began working on an EP, added three more members to the mix, and even watched their song "More To This Life" become a major hit on the Air1 radio network. And for the impressive part? All of that occurred before signing with Gotee Records. Now this fivesome is on the heels of their major label debut Everything and More.

Style: Pop / Rock
Street Date: December 26, 2005

Track list:
01. Everything And More
02. It's Not Over
03. Miracle
04. More To This Life
05. Hold Me Down
06. You're Not Alone
07. Breathe
08. Send Me A Sign
09. Dance To Me
10. In Your Eyes
11. Off The Ground

Download link: