lunes, 5 de diciembre de 2011

Leigh Nash - Hymns and Sacred Songs

As frustrating as it is, it seems 2011 will go by without a new project from Sixpence None the Richer. Promised for what’s been a couple years now, Strange Conversation has been delayed time and time again, but little did their fans know that Leigh Nash had been cooking up a solo project in the meantime – an album comprised solely of both traditional and modern hymns, simply titled Hymns and Sacred Songs. Even though many of these sorts of projects can be disposable or lacking in long lasting flavor, Nash mostly avoids both of these potential pitfalls to create a tranquil venture that only expounds upon the gravity of the hymns’ language. Even though Nash’s signature sound has never been particularly upbeat, opting for a more somber musical approach, it fits the lyrics like a glove (“Power of the Cross” is particularly powerful). Some of the more familiar tracks have also had altered melodies to keep things interesting, and instead of coming off as gimmicky, it works well (“Come Thou Fount of Every Blessing,” “Blessed Redeemer”). For both Sixpence and worship fans, listeners can’t go wrong with this magnificently-executed record; Nash’s album hits all the right notes, if only lacking a real variety of both energy and serenity. While fans continue to await the release of Strange Conversation, the stunning composition of Hymns and Sacred Songs, at the very least, serves as a wonderful prelude that is bound to bless every one of its listeners.

Style: Indie Pop
Street Date: November 15, 2011

01. Savior, Like A Shepherd (Blessed Jesus) (3:34)
02. Come Thou Fount of Every Blessing (3:01)
03. Isaiah 55 (4:05)
04. Oh Heart Bereaved and Lonely (3:46)
05. Power of the Cross (5:09)
06. Give Myself to You (3:09)
07. Come Ye Thankful People Come (2:54)
08. Blessed Redeemer (3:58)
09. Out of My Bondage (3:36)
10. Song of Moses (4:25)
11. Praise The Lord Who Reigns Above (4:14)
12. Be Still My Soul (5:34)

link: Mediafire

No hay comentarios: