martes, 4 de diciembre de 2012

Anberlin - Vital (2012)

Since leaving Tooth & Nail almost five years ago, Anberlin has morphed their sound in more accessible ways to try to win over a broader crowd. Unfortunately, this hasn't exactly worked for them as well as they may have hoped, with the two albums following Cities viewed as a mixed bag of sorts to fans. Vital reunites the band with talented producer Aaron Sprinkle and forges the next chapter in the band's musical journey that feels like a worthy successor to their 2007 epic project Cities that the band never had. With lyrics that once again address relationships with hints at more deeper, spiritual themes, Vital is everything one can expect from an Anberlin album. At first listen, it sounds like a conglomeration of the past three albums with little new brought to the table, but further listens reveal deeper layers beneath the surface. "Innocent" and "Type Three" are some of the album's softer moments and actually serve as some of its best (I love the lyric of the latter, "I look to heaven to save me and you call me naïve / rather been a hopeless lover than cursed with disbelief"), while "Other Side," "Intentions" and "Desires" are among the best rockers. Vital is definitely amid Anberlin's best records yet and, in a time where a lot of today's modern rock music feels like it's the byproduct of a just-add-water mixture, this is a truly refreshing album.

Track List:
  1. Self-Starter (3:17)
  2. Little Tyrants (3:21)
  3. Other Side (4:05)
  4. Someone Anyone (3:28)
  5. Intentions (3:08)
  6. Innocent (4:17)
  7. Desires (3:03)
  8. Type Three (3:56)
  9. Orpheum (3:50)
  10. Modern Age (4:12)
  11. God, Drugs, & Sex (6:13)
  12. Unstable (3:34) **iTunes Exclusive
  13. Said Too Much (3:29) **Best Buy Exclusive
  14. No Love To Speak (4:09) **Best Buy Exclusive

No hay comentarios: